Video on Repeat: Lin-Manuel Miranda ‘Love is love’

 

Untitled-1 copy.jpg

Hello, this post is going to be a little shorter than usual. I originally planned on doing a tribute post to Christina Grimmie, but after spending hours and hours writing and re-writing, the post still feels so incomplete. I’m unable to clearly express my thoughts and ideas while floundering in my emotions. My brain and heart are so utterly confused and devastated by her passing and the shooting at Orland’s Pulse nightclub that happened soon after.

I’ve watched and cried listening to Lin-Manuel’s Tony acceptance speech. I haven’t been able to stop replaying it along with some of my favorite Grimmie songs. I’ll try get to finishing that post soon, but for the meanwhile here it is.

The transcript of his sonnet:

My wife’s the reason anything gets done.
She nudges me towards promise by degrees.
She is a perfect symphony of one.
Our son is her most beautiful reprise.
We chase the melodies that seem to find us
Until they’re finished songs and start to play.
When senseless acts of tragedy remind us
That nothing here is promised. Not one day.
This show is proof that history remembers,
We live through times when hate and fear seem stronger.
We rise and fall and light from dying embers.
Remembrances that hope and love lasts longer.
And love is love is love is love is love is love is love is love is love
Cannot be killed or swept aside.
I sing Vanessa’s symphony, Eliza tells her story.
Now fill the world with Music, Love and Pride.

– Lin-Manuel Miranda

Please take a few minutes to sign this petition.
I’m not too sure when or if I will have a tribute post up so I’d love to take this opportunity to ask you to help catch Nintendo’s attention and possibly have Christina Grimmie memorialized in the upcoming Legend of Zelda game – her love for Zelda and Nintendo was apparent from the very beginning 😊 (check out her youtube username if you’re confused).

Also, please go check out this video – Hannah Hart: What you can do. 
Every voice makes a difference.
Just because there are alternative ways to commit crimes doesn’t mean we should keep things the way they are, we need preventive measures. We need to be doing our very best.

 

Leave a Reply

