Travel: Melbourne Trip Round up (+ Links)

Hello! I’m back! I’ve missed blogging and just sitting down and going through all the blogs I’ve subscribed to, so I’m really glad I’m back 🙂 As you might have seen, I just got back from my 2 week trip to Melbourne where I saw family and friends and ate (and ate and ate and ate and ate). I’ve been awful with keeping up with my Instagram so I decided that I would make a post about my trip using some of the photos I took and have yet put onto Instagram. Hope you enjoy it!

(Links of the places I’ve mentioned will be at the very end)

Has anyone else noticed that Africa looks like a sad person with a beard, horn, and oddly shaped head?
Right before I got off the plane, this caught my eye. Has anyone else noticed that Africa looks like a sulking person with a beard, horn, and oddly shaped head?
My cousin and I were too hungry to take a photo of our lunch (Jimmy Grants - I had the 'Nonna Maria' So. Good.) but I snapped a photo of her paying for our pre-dinner snack - froyo @ 'A Thousand Blessings' The chocolate hazelnut was my favourite!
My cousin and I were too hungry to take a photo of our lunch (Jimmy Grants – I had the ‘Nonna Maria’ So. Good.) but I snapped a photo of her paying for our pre-dinner snack – froyo @ ‘A Thousand Blessings‘ The chocolate hazelnut was my favourite!
Brunch at 'Sardie'. I got the Acai bowl, my cousin got a raspberry muffin(?), and we shared sweet potato fries with a really yummy avocado dip. I would definitely go back!
Brunch at ‘Sardi’. I got the Acai bowl, my cousin got a raspberry muffin(?), and we shared sweet potato fries with a really yummy avocado dip. I would definitely go back!
Reunited with one of my most favourite people ever and what do we do? We spend 4 hours making felted wool animals from Daiso for $2.80 AUD each. She made George the Penguin and I made Percy the Pig. They're best friends.
Reunited with one of my most favourite people ever and what do we do? We spend 4 hours making felted wool animals from Daiso for $2.80 AUD each. She made George the Penguin and I made Percy the Pig. They’re best friends.
Also reunited with the lovely Belle (the best friend of Putt Putt) who (as we can all see) was stoked to see me.
Also reunited with the lovely Belle (the best friend of Putt Putt) who (as we can all see) was stoked to see me. It’s okay, she loves me. Really! She came to snuggle in bed with me 🙂
We went to the  Abbotsford Convent then snuck over to the Collingwood Children's Farm and stared a lots of animals. We met....
We went to the Abbotsford Convent’s bakery to check out their lovely baked goods, then snuck over to a part the Collingwood Children’s Farm and stared a few animals. We met….
IMG_4558
a bunch of goats/sheep, cows, horses, and a donkey.
IMG_4557
This one was NOT amused… or it just had a RBF (resting beach* face)
IMG_4556
While this one kept posing for me. I have about 15 shots of this one smirking/grinning 🙂
We also sent to Lux Bite for some dessert. It was really cute and relaxing and the service was fantastic. The desserts we picked were beautiful but was lacking the wow factor taste-wise.
We also sent to Lux Bite for some dessert. It was really cute and the service was fantastic. The desserts were beautiful but lacked the wow factor taste-wise. Not too sure if I’d go back.
This is one of the deserts we chose. It was a giant raspberry and lychee macaron. The other one we picked was a chocolate mousse which I think I devoured before even realizing I should have taken a photo.
We picked a giant raspberry and lychee macaron and a chocolate mousse (which I devoured before even realizing I should have taken a photo).
We also got a hot salted caramel chocolate drink. It was less 'hot chocolate-y' and more 'hot cocoa/malt' (which I think was written on the menu but we were too eager and misread it).
We also got a hot salted caramel chocolate drink. It was less ‘hot chocolate-y’ and more ‘hot cocoa/malt’ (which I think was written on the menu but we were too eager and misread it).
We also visited Phillipa's Bakery. We thought we would have made it early enough to snag ourselves a nutella cronut but at 10:30am we were too late. However we bought ourselves a loaf of sourdough (we also wanted the brioche loaf but it was sold out) and also....
We also visited Phillipa’s Bakery for a nutella cronut but at 10:30am we were too late. However we bought ourselves a loaf of sourdough (we also wanted the brioche loaf but it was sold out). Lesson learnt? Get there EARLY.
A tuna sandwich on a charcoal bun (which was delicious) and also....
Just because they were out of cronuts didn’t mean we were going to leave without food though! We split a tuna sandwich on a charcoal bun (which was delicious! Sorry for the awful photo, it’s so hard to make tuna filling look good…) and ….
a cup of really nice coffee. The service was on point. We found that one store was friendly than the other. When we popped into the other store in the city to see if they had any other bread left, the workers seemed a touch impatient and fed up. However, I would definitely recommend popping in to try their stuff!
a cup of really nice coffee. The service was on point. We found that one store was just a bit more friendly than the other. Regardless, I would definitely recommend popping in to try their stuff!
This photo is actually in my instagram feed (Whoops!) but I could't not mention the amazing macarons from La Belle Miette. The macarons are  so good I could easily polish off a whole box of them (who's to say I haven't done that before....). The boxes are gorgeous and so lovely to keep or give as a present.
This photo is actually in my Instagram feed (Whoops!) but I couldn’t skip past the amazing macarons from La Belle Miette. The macarons are so good I could easily polish off a whole box of them (who’s to say I haven’t done that before….). The boxes are gorgeous and so lovely to keep or give as a present.
It's a shame I didn't get a better photo but anyway,in that cup is a scoop of ice-cream and waffle. It was perfectly coffee-y and hot and cold and mmmmmm.
In that cup is a scoop of ice-cream and waffle and I swear, something else… I just can’t quite remember. What I do remember is that it was perfectly coffee-y and hot and cold and mmmmmmMmmmm. Well done Waffee!
It didn't hurt that their store was so cute too. The place was decorated all over, had a cosy feel, and the staff who worked there were smiley, jokey, helpful and really sweet. It was the perfect place to sit down for waffles and coffee and a good old chat :)
It didn’t hurt that their store was so cute too. The place was decorated all over, had a cosy feel, and the staff who worked there were smiley, jokey, helpful and really sweet. It was the perfect place to sit down for waffles and coffee and a good old chat 🙂
We went to Messina's twice.... It's so flippin amazing. I'm sad I didn't get any photos because we went at night and it was dark and a tad crowded but umfgh. We had apple pie + 2 special flavours the fist night, then the lychee + mandarin + panda coconut sorbet the second night. If you're around this area, its a place you should visit!
We went to Messina’s twice in a row…. It’s so flippin amazing. I’m sad I didn’t get any photos because we went at night and it was dark and a tad crowded but umfgh. We had apple pie + 2 special flavours the fist night, then the lychee + mandarin + panda coconut sorbet the second night. If you’re around this area, it’s a place you should visit!
We also stopped by Brunetti for some dessert. the Minifreddi (? the one that is pictured) tasted like a giant Ferro Rocher. If I could... I'd have this everyday. This is a place you must stop by if you're in the city.
We also stopped by Brunetti for some dessert. The Minifreddi (? the one that is pictured) tasted like a giant Ferro Rocher. If I could… I’d have this everyday. This is a place you must stop by if you’re in the city.
Spent my last day being silly with my cousin and my aunt :)
I spent my very last day (Queen’s birthday!) being silly with my cousin and my aunt 🙂

I keep forgetting to document my travels, but I think that’s generally okay because I had fun and I still noted down all the places you guys should visit! I didn’t do many tourist-y things because I’ve lived in Melbourne for 4 years and so it was a really chill type of trip. Most of the things I’ve noted are more local-y things.

Other best parts of my trip were:

  • Getting to see my extended family and spend time with them. They’ve done so much for me and been there for me over the years, so getting to see them is always exciting.
  • Catching up with one of my oldest and best(est) friends who I haven’t seen since 2012/2013. She ended up in Canada while I was in Melbourne. It was really sad 😦 but it’s okay, we had Yum Cha this time.
  • I also got to spend some time with my best friend’s family (I pretty much consider them my family) and say goodbye to Putty (one of the best cats ever).
  • Got bahn mi (Vietnamese sandwich) twice from Phouc Thanh and had the biggest Vietnamese feast at Loi Loi.
  • Using my (new) camera!
  • Had Balinese food. They make surprisingly delicious ribs!
  • Remembered to take photo-booth photos with my best friend (it’s a tradition!)
  • Got coffee and donuts for breakfast from Adeney.
  • Saw an amazing video of my cousin’s wedding. I cried. It wasn’t any old video either, it was made like a movie/documentary thing. Eesh, setting the bar high much?

 Links to places I went to (that I think you should consider putting on your list of places to visit!)

Outside of the city: Abbotsford Convent (Bakery) Ripples (Yum Cha with the push carts!) Sardi Collingwood Children’s Farm Phouc Thanh Loi Loi Adeney Lux Bite

Within the city: Waffee A Thousand Blessings Daiso Phillipa’s Bakery La Belle Miette (Rating: 4.9 from ‎3,141 votes. Just saying!) Brunetti Jimmy Grants (They put chips in your souvlaki!!!! YES.)

7 thoughts on “Travel: Melbourne Trip Round up (+ Links)

Leave a Reply

