5 Rules I (Try) to Live by.

5 Rules I (Try) to Live ByI’m going to end May with these 5 rules are currently the most important rules in my life. I don’t do all these consistently because I’m human, but I’ve been working on it.

1. Be ‘selfish’.

Sometimes I forget, but it’s so important to put myself first. When I start putting everyone else before myself, I’m often unable to take care of myself and give my best to others and my responsibilities. It’s a vicious cycle of letting myself down and letting others down. This can as simple as to taking 30 minutes for time to do what I want.

2. Appreciate:

– Myself: It’s so easy to think of all the things I don’t have, can’t do etc. but there are so many things that I can do and do have. The negatives only takeover the positives when I allow them to amplify.

– Others: It’s also so easy to list the negative points of other people (especially if I’m feeling angry/jealous etc), but that often doesn’t change anything. By listing all the good things about other people, I’m able to learn from them and hopefully become inspired.

3. Look past the surface.

It’s good to be inspired or love someone, but being blinded by admiration for others can be unhealthy. I try to acknowledge everyone’s strengths and weaknesses. When I block out one and concentrate on the other, my expectations of them and myself are unrealistic and unfair. It’s always good to have big dreams and admire others, but you’ve got to have some sense of reality to stay sane.

4. Be a good person.

This might sound really silly but I want to be a good person. I hope to find happiness and contentedness in that. I don’t want to look back in my life and realize that I’ve hurt and offended everyone. Kindness and manners go a long way. Ask people if they need help if they are struggling, give people your full attention during interactions (this is one of my pet peeves. read about them here!), and say thank you/greet people you interact with. It’s not about making other people see that you’re a good person, but doing things because you want to and because it’s the right thing to do.

5. Celebrate & be proud.

Celebrate the littlest of things. Be happy about things.
I remembered to drink lots of water? Woohoo!
I found my keys after furiously digging through all my pockets and my bag on the floor of my lobby in front of 10 people? Woohoo!
I got that assignment in on-time with time to spare? YES. YES. I. DID.

Leave a Reply

