DIY: Easy Mosaic Phone Case (#dollarstoreDIY)

header Hello! I’m finally back with another super easy DIY: Mosaic Phone Case. It’s a fun way to customize your phone case. As you can see by my little hashtag in the title, everything I used to make this phone case was found in my dollar store. Of course, feel free to buy better quality material, I just wanted to set myself a bit of a challenge. Let’s get started!phones main

What You Will NeedUntitled-1

  • Super Glue
  • CDs (I bought a 2 pack of DVDs for $3)
  • Scissors
  • Phone case (I would suggest buying a hard cover and not a soft one like I did)

What To Do

  1. Take a CD and cut it in half. Use some sturdy scissors!
  2. Take each half CD and split them in half. If you look closely at the CD piece, you’ll notice that it’s like a sandwich. Split the CD by slipping a fingernail or something in-between it so you end up with 2 pieces – 1 shiny, 1 transparent (so 4 pieces from each full CD). We will be using the shiny half but feel free to keep the transparent halves for any other DIYs you might do in the future!
  3. Repeat step 2 to any other CDs you may have.
  4. Cut the shiny pieces into different shapes. I just hacked it and kept all the edges straight so it would be easier to put together.IMG_3119 copy
  5. Do a rough draft of how the pieces will stick on the phone case. This way you’ll know if you need any specifically shaped pieces or need to trim some pieces down. I suggest making sure that the pieces near the edge aren’t sharp and sticking out.IMG_3128
  6. Super glue them down! Stick all of them down and let it dry.
  7. You’re done! You are now the proud owner of a shiny mosaic phone case!

IMG_3167My biggest tip for this DIY would be to use a hard case! I used a soft one and the pieces sometimes pop off when I take the case on and off.

I hope you enjoyed this DIY and if you decide to give it a go, be sure to let me know by leaving a comment or sending me a picture on Instagram @tiffkaya (#tiffanykaya or tag me in the photo).

Good luck and have fun!

4 thoughts on “DIY: Easy Mosaic Phone Case (#dollarstoreDIY)

Leave a Reply

