My Winter Must-Haves: 2015

Hello!I thought I’d put together a list of things I loved this winter. I’ve covered beauty(?) must-haves because my skin is really affected by the weather, and the hundreds of choices out there for each type of product really scared and confused me. skinEucerin: Dry Skin, Intensive Lip Balm This was magic. I had the worst chapped + split lips at the beginning of winter so I finally caved for a not-so-cute medicinal sounding lip product. I put it on continuously for a whole day and once overnight and the next day my lips were pretty much back to their old self. This is now my go to product for chapped/dry lips. I have noticed that after the product is gone my lips do feel a bit dry, but it does the healing part of the process really well. Deodorant: I don’t really have a good suggestion for this one yet. It gets cold here (-20 to -30 regularly in winter) so I get really sweaty (eh?) because I’m wearing so many layers and running to get out of the cold. Plus its always really warm inside. It drives me crazy. I haven’t found a brand that I love yet, so I’m still on the hunt. Let me know if you have any suggestions!

Clearasil(R) DailyClear(R) Acne Treatment Cream. I don’t often get pimples but when I do, they are stubborn. You know those pimples that begin to surface but then decided to take a break so you end up with just a huge red throbbing spot on your face for a week (or longer)? I get them, and this has been helping me get rid of those lurkers.

Bodyshop Pink Grapefruit Body Butter I wanted something a bit more refreshing, less sweet, and didn’t make me need to break out a chocolate bar. This was the one.

Revlon – Colorburst Lip Butter: Cherry Tart #070. I like having a bright lip in winter for a nice pop, and I feel like you can’t go wrong with red. I’m still looking for a dark lip colour that doesn’t intimidate me. I’m not in love with the other colour so I didn’t have much to write about it, but it’s always nice to have a lighter shade too. See this post for my thoughts about the Cherry Tart lip butter!

First Aid Beauty: Ultra Repair Cream – Intense Hydration This was my first really dry winter and I was noticing patches of dry skin. The Sephora magicians suggested this and I ended up loving it. It’s a bit thicker than I would like, but once it’s on it does good. I use this mainly on my face but sometimes my hands, elbows and knees. My skin is all good now. As soft as a peach. Less fuzzy. I hope.

TonyMoly Hand Cream – Tangerine My cousin gave this to me a few months ago in a cute gift set of 4 fruit scented lotions. This smells so good and comes in the cutest packaging (I am such a sucker for good packaging. Anyone else?). I just realized that this list pretty much works for all seasons, so I guess you can start adding things to your shopping list now! Hopefully something in this list will be handy for someone reading this. I know I’ll be revisiting this list next winter 🙂

P.S. If you have really cold hands or get really cold, hot packs are nice. I usually get the Asian brand ones just because I’ve using them since I was a baby. If you’re interested, look up “hand warmers” (they’re pretty much the same thing) on amazon. They have all sorts of hot packs now such as reusable ones and sticky ones that you can stick onto your clothes (inner layers) to keep you warm!

4 thoughts on “My Winter Must-Haves: 2015

Leave a Reply

